TuneCore Partners with International Songwriting Competition (ISC)

July 16, 2019

Since 2002, musicians and music industry professionals from all over the world have come together each year to celebrate and award the best professional and amateur songwriters. The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is designed to “nurture the musical talent of songwriters of all levels and promote excellence in the art of songwriting.”

TuneCore is excited to participate as a sponsor and distribution partner in the 2019 International Songwriting Competition and to share hat the official 2019 Semi-Finalists have been announced. You can view a complete listing here.

Each year, the ISC awards 71 winners across 23 genre categories with more than $150,000 in cash and prizes, and the Grand Prize winner takes home $25,000 in cash USD. Previous winners have been members of the TuneCore community including R.LUM.R, Lindsey Stirling, Vance Joy, Bastille, Illenium and Gotye. Since its humble beginnings, the ISC has grown to receiving close to 19,000 entries across 140 countries worldwide as of last year.

At this point you might be asking yourself, “Who’s to judge all these songwriters, anyway?”

Well, this year’s panel of judges includes Coldplay, Dua Lipa, Fleet Foxes, Tom Waits, Cam, American Authors, Irma Thomas, Tanya Tucker, Camila, and many more high-profile recording artists. On top of those heavy-hitters, the 2019 ISC’s judge panel also includes industry professionals on behalf of Republic, Capitol, Warner Records, Epic, Glassnote, Parlophone, and Elektra.

“We are extremely honored and appreciative to have so many renowned artists and industry executives included as judges this year,” said Candace Avery, the competition’s Founder and Director. “The participation of these judges is what sets ISC apart from other music competitions and is what makes ISC so special.”

This is your chance to share in over $150,000 in cash and prizes and be heard by a star-studded judging panel. TuneCore is excited to be able to offer winners the following:


·                Two Free Releases

·                Free Publishing Administration

·                Free YouTube Monetization

·                Store Automator for both releases

·                New Music Friday Spotify Playlist Consideration

FIRST PLACE (23 Winners)

·                Two Free Releases (Single or Album)

·                Free Store Automator for both releases

·                $1 YouTube Monetization

SECOND PLACE (23 Winners)

·                One Free Release (Single or Album)

·                Free Store Automator

·                $1 YouTube Monetization

THIRD PLACE (23 Winners)

·                One Free Release (Single or Album)

·                $1 YouTube Monetization


·                One Free Release (Single or Album)

While we’re excited for ALL of this year’s participants, we’d love to be awarding some TuneCore Artists at the end of the contest!

The 2019 competition is now officially closed. However, if you have songs you’d like to submit for the 2020 International Songwriting Competition, you may do so at a discounted, $25 Early Bird rate!

Click here to submit your songs for the 2020 International Songwriter Competition. 

The list of 2019 judges includes:

Recording Artists:

Coldplay; Dua Lipa; Tom Waits; Fleet Foxes; American Authors; The Script; Nancy Wilson (Heart); Tanya Tucker; Kevin Gates; Cam; Kristian Bush (Sugarland); Sara Evans; Bastille; Keane; Gloria Trevi; Walker Hayes; Jeremih; Sidewalk Prophets; Lukas Nelson; Danilo Perez; James McNally (Afro Celt Sound System); Krewella; Kari Jobe; Rakim (Eric B. & Rakim); Camila; Peter Erskine; Matthew West; Robert Randolph (Robert Randolph & The Family Band); DJ Shadow; Nervo; Easton Corbin; Mandolin Orange; Amadou & Miriam; Kaskade; John Mayall; Ted Nash; Joe Louis Walker; Gordon Goodwin; Nicholas Gunn; Ashwin Batish; Lonnie Liston Smith; Walter Trout; Micah Tyler; Aparna Nancheris; Jimmy Pardo; John Tibbs; and more to be announced.

Industry Executives:

Avery Lipman (Founder/President, Republic Records); Sylvia Rhone (Chairman/CEO, Epic Records); Daniel Glass (President, Glassnote Records); Jo Charrington (Co-President, Capitol Music Group UK); Nick Burgess (Co-President, Parlophone Records); Mark Mitchell (Co-President, Parlophone Records); Mike Easterlin (Co-President, Elektra Music Group); John Burk (President, Concord Label Group); Ed Vetri (President, Wind-Up Records); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Kate Craig (VP of A&R, Warner Records); Nate Albert (EVP of A&R, Capitol Records); Jacob Edgar (Founder, Cumbancha); Josh Bailey (Senior VP of A&R, Word Entertainment); Gordon Kerr (CEO, Black River Entertainment); Richard Stumpf (CEO, Atlas Publishing); Kim Buie (VP of A&R, New West Records); AJ Tobey (Head of A&R, Rough Trade Publishing); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Julie Kertes (Editor/Manager, Hot Diggity Media); Carletta Higginson (Global Head of Music Publishing, YouTube); Laura Margolin (Publishing, Glassnote Records); Leib Ostrow (Founder/CEO, Music For Little People); Katherine Dines (Co-President, The Children’s Music Network); Claire S. Green (President, Parent’s Choice Foundation); Benjamin Groff (Founder, The Brill Building); Golnar Khosrowshahi (President, Reservoir Media Management); Tamara Conniff (EVP, Roc Nation); Carl Caprioglio (Founder/CEO, Oglio Entertainment); and more to be announced.

Tags: contest featuring international songwriting contest isc songwriter songwriting