号外!通过 TuneCore 奖励发展你的事业。

创作和发行音乐从未像今天这样简单。在世界各地,所有年龄和音乐背景的人都在电脑上写音乐和录制音乐, 统计数据显示 ,现在通过流媒体平台上传和发布的音乐数量惊人。当今的音乐产业给独立艺术家更多的机会,以自己的条件创作,录制和发布音乐,但如果你是一个音乐家,不是特别精通技术,找出如何从你的家庭录音室录制音乐可能是令人生畏的。

这是一个特殊的调谐核心生存指南,以帮助使事情更容易为您。我们将引导您了解您需要了解的一切,从您需要购买的初始设备到声学治疗空间的提示,以及获取音乐掌握和发布。

录音设备和音乐软件

我们需要谈论的第一件事, 从家庭录音室开始录制音乐是齿轮。如果你想从地下室、卧室或车库制作专业级的录音,你需要的远不止笔记本电脑或台式电脑上可能已经存有的股票录音和音频资产。逐件列出使用家庭录音室开始录制音乐所需的一切:

音频接口

计算机没有能力自己录制和解释高质量的声音。这就是音频接口的用处。当然,您的计算机可能配备了库存麦克风,但计算机上已有的音频资产没有处理能力来实现原始的、值得收音机录制的录音。

音频接口是使您能够将专业麦克风和仪器连接到计算机的设备。这意味着跳过音频接口意味着无法使用专业麦克风和捕获高品质的乐器录制。有很多音频界面可以从在线和音乐商店中进行选择。正如旧表述所言,我们将在本指南中涵盖所有装备和软件,'你得到你所付出的。

一个坚实的音频界面可以帮助你制作伟大的录音,但许多DIY音乐家会想提高他们的录音能力,甚至更多通过添加一个预录到混合。预录不是从家庭录音室录制音乐必不可少的,但他们是一个很大的帮助。这些设备可以增强低信号,使录音听起来更温暖、更变形。

麦克风/支架/电缆

根据要录制的材料,您需要不同的支架、电缆和 某种麦克风 。例如,一个基本的录音室麦克风将是伟大的 录音人声 和原声吉他,但如果你打算录制鼓集,你会需要更多的精心设置,包括特殊的夹式麦克风和支架。

如果你打算录制你的声音和几个基本的仪器是一个录音室麦克风,麦克风支架,四分之一英寸电缆,XLR电缆和一个流行过滤器,一个很好的开始。四分之一英寸电缆插入键盘和吉他,XLR 电缆插入麦克风。流行过滤器可减少歌手发出"p"声音时产生的响亮、意外的噪音。

DAW(数字音频工作站)

DAW 使家庭录音师能够录制音频、编辑、混合和制作具有声音效果的录制音频。他们还让音乐家通过 MIDI 设备直接在平台内作曲(MIDI 代表乐器数字接口)。如果你是一个苹果用户,那么你可能已经有车库乐队储备在你的电脑上。这是一个良好的开端,一些卧室制作人已经成功地利用程序录制音乐和启动职业生涯,但你最终会想升级到一个更好的软件程序。每个 DAW 都是不同的,每个 DAW 都提供独特的优势。我们建议在开始一个严肃的录音项目之前,给自己足够的时间来了解你的来来去去。

耳机/扬声器

耳机对于让音乐家在录制时可以听到咔嗒声和参考曲目至关重要。这让音乐家听到孤立的音频,不会被记录到最后的轨道。这里有一句谨慎的话。无论您是录制音乐还是混音曲目,都不要将耳塞用于家庭录制过程的任何方面。耳塞不是为专业录音而设计的,随着时间的推移,它们会对您的听力造成严重损害。改为使用过耳式耳机。

当涉及到编辑和混合你的轨道, 你的电脑扬声器不会做。桌面录音室监视器将为您准确了解在混合过程中录制的音乐听起来像什么。您可以使用耳机进行混合,但不建议使用。

构建和处理您的录制空间

现在,你有你的录音设备和DAW软件,是时候选择和处理一个空间,在你的家录音。您需要一个专门的办公桌区来处理您使用计算机所做的一切。这包括工程现场录制会话,以及混合和制作您的曲目。

然后,您需要处理您将录制的实际空间。近年来,一些极具影响力和伟大的音乐在音乐家的地下室、卧室和宿舍中被录制下来。通过小额投资,您可以将家中的空间转换为适合录制的设置。然而,我们应该注意到,大量的资金和专业知识投入到建设专业录音室。你绝对可以 创建一个空间,适合自己录制,但一个精心设计和处理的录音室将运行你任何地方从5万美元到数百万美元。

首先,让我们来解决基础问题。还记得我们谈论的花哨的音频界面和专业麦克风吗?不幸的是,专业录音设备记录不仅仅是音乐表演。宠物,开车经过外面的汽车,你公寓古老的散热器加热系统——任何在录音时制造噪音的东西都会被拾起并弄乱你的轨道。尽一切可能清除您录制的不需要的外部噪音的空间。

选择要录制的空间 

如果可以的话,选择一个足够大的空间来存储您的乐器,并容纳您计划录制的音乐家。尝试在有硬木、瓷砖或混凝土地板的房间里开店。这是因为铺有地毯的房间吸收某些声音频率,而不是其他声音频率,这会导致录制不平衡。至于房子和公寓的房间去,你最好选择一个大的空间与高天花板。但是,由于大多数音乐家没有进入这类房间,只要尽你最大的努力。

尽可能多地清理房间。这意味着清空挂在墙上的家具和东西的空间。如果这是一个巨大的痛苦,你当然可以留下一些东西在房间里,但尝试至少清除物体躺在周围,可能会在录音过程中振动。空间越空越好。

处理您的空间

您希望处理您将要工作的空间的程度取决于您的预算和录制需求。 房间隔音 是为了最大限度地减少录制过程中在空间外产生的声音。这是宿舍和公寓等共享空间的理想之选,但不会提高录音的音质。

声学治疗 是一个完全不同的球类游戏。Reverb 是一个伟大的声音效果添加到您的音乐以后,但它可能是 一个不需要的客人 在录音。声学面板——你在工作室墙壁上看到的花哨的泡沫面板——吸收不需要的回响,并留下干燥、直接的声音空间。许多音乐家停止录音室治疗那里,但你会得到最好的结果,结合声音吸收和声音扩散。

扩散器面板通过将声波多样性和丰富度添加到使用声学面板处理的空间中来保持声音的自然特性。这些面板由木材和其他硬材料制成。泡沫声学面板和扩散器的组合将为您的空间提供正确的声学平衡进行录制。

首次录制会话

当谈到DIY家庭录音时,没有多少人谈论这个问题,但启动可能会有很大的挑战性,特别是如果你正在录制自己的项目。第一次开始录制时要记住的关键是耐心。它需要大量的反复试验,以开发所需的印章,以曲柄出伟大的录音,这组技能是完全不同的,你已经发展成为一个称职的音乐家。

幸运的是,我们生活在一个在录制音乐时很容易在网上找到实用技术指导的时代。查看视频 教程 ,涵盖录音室录音的来回,并给自己尽可能多的时间,你需要尝试,失败,并开发录音室的例行公事。从正确获得音响水平到知道如何放置麦克风进行录制,对于制作出色的录音至关重要,因此您的研究和耐心也至关重要。你不会在一夜之间成为一个工作室。

混合和制作您的音乐

一旦录制过程完成,您将开始混合和制作曲目的漫长任务。

混合 是将多个声音组合在一起的过程,但它的目的远超于此。除了将不同录制的声音粘在一起之外, 混音是音频制作的一部分 ,其中轨道级别被确定,不同的声音被混合在一起,以创建一个最终的轨道,在音乐上令人愉悦和引人入胜。

在音频制作过程中的这个时刻,声音效果,如 延迟,回响,失真, 情商压缩 被战略性地添加到轨道,给他们 的深度和性格。录制音乐的塑造有时被称为 音乐制作,但请记住,这个角色通常是通过一个局外人完成的,他经常从一开始就塑造录音过程,一直到最后一首曲目。这是音频制作的另一个领域, 在线研究指导 可以有很大的帮助。

掌握您的最终曲目

一旦你的音乐被录制和混合,是时候掌握你的最后曲目了。这是优化音乐的过程,以便在所有音乐格式和平台上听起来清晰一致。 通过掌握,"正在进行的工作"阶段,已经定义了您的录音,直到这一点成为最终的轨道,稍后将在流媒体平台,电台和汽车广告播放(如果你幸运的话)。

掌握是一种技能,如果你能负担得起,你的音乐将听起来最好,如果你寻找一个专业的音频工程师来掌握你的工作。但最近,技术在数字自动化掌握过程方面取得了长足的进展。公司现在向音乐家提供掌握技术的费用只是与工作室合作的一小部分。

它完成了-现在怎么办?

当你的音乐终于完成,是时候分发和推广它了。 音乐分发 需要您完成的音乐,并使其可用于流媒体和购买数字平台,如 Spotify ,苹果音乐,潘多拉,和其他人。唱片公司过去几乎完全有能力发行音乐,但随着音乐消费几乎完全转向数字空间,艺术家们更容易接触到音乐。

但是,早在你的音乐被分发之前,你需要投入大量的时间和思考如何促进你的工作。专业公关和广播活动将通过将音乐发送到博客、传统媒体和广播电台进行报道和潜在的广播播放来推广您的音乐,但这很昂贵。许多音乐家通过向博客、播放列表策展人和媒体本身推销他们的音乐来发起DIY音乐推广活动。推广是一项艰苦的工作,但它对于当今将音乐与观众联系起来至关重要。

正如我们前面提到的,学习DIY家庭录音的绳索需要大量的时间和精力。最好以开放的心态和极大的耐心介入这个过程,因为在真正培养出制作优秀唱片所需的技能之前,您可能需要搞砸几次。

作者:帕特里克·麦奎尔

It’s never been easier to create and release music than it is today. All over the world, people of all ages and musical backgrounds are writing and recording music on their computers, and the statistics show that an astounding amount of music is now being uploaded and released through streaming platforms. Today’s music industry is giving independent artists more chances than ever before to create, record, and release music on their own terms, but if you’re a musician that’s not particularly tech-savvy, figuring out how to record music from your home studio can be intimidating.

This is a special TuneCore Survival Guide to help make things easier for you. We’ll walk you through everything you need to know, from the initial gear you’ll need to purchase to tips for acoustically treating a space to getting your music mastered and released.

Recording Gear & Music Software

The first thing we need to talk about for getting set up to record music from a home recording studio is gear. If you want to produce professional-grade recordings from your basement, bedroom, or garage, you’re going to need much more than the stock recording and audio assets that most likely already live on your laptop or desktop computer. Piece by piece, here’s a list of everything you’ll need to start recording music with using a home studio:

Audio interfaces

Computers don’t have the ability to record and interpret high-quality sounds on their own. That’s where audio interfaces come in. Sure, your computer probably came with a stock microphone, but the audio assets that already exist on your computer don’t have the processing power to achieve pristine, radio-worthy recordings.

Audio interfaces are devices that give you the power to connect professional microphones and instruments to your computer. This means that skipping the audio interface means not being able to use professional mics and capture high-quality recordings of instruments. There are loads of audio interfaces to choose from online and in music stores. As the old expression goes, with all the gear and software we’ll cover in this guide, ‘you get what you pay for.’

A solid audio interface can help you produce great recordings, but many DIY musicians will want to improve their recording power even more by adding a preamp into the mix. Preamps are not essential to record music from a home studio, but they are a big help. These are devices that boost low signals to make your recordings sound warmer and shaper.

Microphones/stands/cables

You’ll need different stands, cables, and some sort of microphone(s) depending on the material you want to record. For example, a basic studio microphone will be great for recording vocals and an acoustic guitar with, but if you’re planning on recording a drum set, you’re going to need more of an elaborate setup that includes special clip-on microphones and stands.

A good place to start if you’re planning on recording your voice and a couple of basic instruments is a studio microphone, mic stand, quarter-inch cable, XLR cable, and a pop filter. Quarter-inch cables plug into keyboards and guitars, and XLR cables plug into microphones. Pop filters reduce the loud, unintended noises singers create when they make “p” sounds.

DAWs  (Digital Audio Workstations)

DAWs give home recordists the ability to record audio, edit, mix, and produce recorded audio with sound effects. They also let musicians compose directly within the platform through MIDI devices (MIDI stands for Musical Instrument Digital Interface). If you’re an Apple user, then you probably already have GarageBand stocked on your computer. This is a nice start, and some bedroom producers have successfully used the program to record music and launch careers, but you’ll want to upgrade to a better software program eventually. Every DAW is different and each offers unique benefits. We recommend giving yourself plenty of time to learn the ins and outs of yours before launching into a serious recording project.

Headphones/Speakers

Headphones are crucial in the recording progress for giving musicians audible click and reference tracks to play to while recording. This lets musicians hear isolated audio that won’t get recorded onto the final track. A word of caution here. Don’t use earbuds for any aspect of your home recording process, whether it’s recording music or mixing tracks. Earbuds aren’t designed for professional recording use, and they can do serious damage to your hearing over time. Use over-the-ear headphones instead.

When it comes to editing and mixing your tracks, your computer speakers won’t do. Desktop studio monitors will give you an accurate idea of what your recorded music sounds like during the mixing process. You can use headphones to mix, but it’s not recommended.

Building & Treating Your Recording Space

Now that you’ve got your recording gear and DAW software, it’s time to select and treat a space in your home for recording. You’ll need a dedicated desk area for everything you’ll do with your computer. This includes engineering live recording sessions as well as mixing and producing your tracks.

Then, you’ll need to treat the actual space you’ll be recording in. Some hugely influential and great sounding music has come out in recent years that’s been recorded in musicians’ basements, bedrooms, and dorm rooms. With a small investment, you can turn a space in your home into a setting suitable for recording. However, we should note that loads of money and expertise go into building professional recording studios. You absolutely can create a space that works well for recording by yourself, but a perfectly engineered and treated recording studio will run you anywhere from $50,000 to millions of dollars.

First, let’s tackle the basics. Remember the fancy audio interface and professional mics we talked about? Unfortunately, professional recording gear records more than just music performances. Pets, cars driving by outside, your apartment’s ancient radiator heating system––anything that makes noise while you’re recording will get picked up and muddle your tracks. Do everything to clear the space you’re recording in of unwanted external noise.

Choosing a space to record in 

If you can, choose a space that’s large enough to store your instruments and accommodate the musicians you’re planning on recording. Try to set up shop in a room that has hardwood, tile, or concrete flooring. This is because carpeted rooms absorb certain sound frequencies and not others, which results in unbalanced recordings. As far as rooms in houses and apartments go, your best bet will be to choose a large space with high ceilings. But since most musicians don’t have access to those sorts of rooms, just do your best.

Clear out the room as much as you can. This means emptying the space of furniture and stuff hanging on the walls. If this is a huge pain, you certainly can leave some things in the room, but try to at least clear objects lying around that might vibrate during recording. The emptier the space, the better.

Treating your space

How much you want to treat the space you’ll be working in depends on your budget and recording needs. Soundproofing a room is something done to minimize the sounds generated outside of a space during recordings. This is ideal for shared spaces like dorm rooms and apartments, but it doesn’t improve the sound quality of your recordings.

Acoustic treatment is a whole other ballgame. Reverb is a great sound effect to add to your music later, but it can be an unwanted guest during recordings. Acoustic panels––the fancy foam panels you see lining the walls of studios––absorb unwanted reverb and leave spaces with dry, direct sounds. Many musicians stop studio treatment there, but you’ll get the best results by combining sound absorption with sound diffusion.

Diffuser panels preserve the natural qualities of sounds by adding sonic variety and richness back into a space treated with acoustic panels. These panels are made of wood and other hard materials. A combination of foam acoustic panels and diffusers will give your space the right acoustic balance for recording.

First Recording Session

Not a lot of people talk about this when it comes to DIY home recording, but it can be massively challenging to get started, especially if you’re recording your own project. The key thing to remember when setting out to record for the first time is patience. It takes a great deal of trial and error to develop the chops needed to crank out great recordings, and this set of skills is completely different than the ones you’ve developed to become a competent musician.

Luckily, we live in a time where practical tech guidance can easily be found online when it comes to recording music. Check out video tutorials covering the ins and outs of studio recording, and give yourself as much time as you need to try, fail, and develop studio routines. Everything from getting the sound levels right to knowing how to place the microphone for recordings is crucial for producing great recordings, so do your research and be patient. You won’t become a studio wiz overnight.

Mixing & Producing Your Music

Once the recording process is finished, you’ll begin the long task of mixing and producing your tracks.

Mixing is the process of combining multiple sounds together, but its purpose far transcends that. In addition to gluing together different recorded sounds, mixing is the part of audio production where track levels are determined and different sounds are blended together to create a final track that’s musically pleasing and engaging.

At this point in the audio production process, sound effects like delay, reverb, distortion, EQ, and compression are strategically added to tracks to give them depth and character. The shaping of recorded music is sometimes called music production, but keep in mind this role is typically done through an outside person who often shapes the recording process from the very beginning all the way down to the final track. This is another area of audio production where researching guidance online can be a big help.

Mastering Your Final Tracks

Once your music has been recorded and mixed, it’s time to master your final tracks. This is the process of optimizing your music so that it sounds clear and consistent over all music formats and platforms. Through mastering, the “work in progress” stage that has defined your recordings up until this point becomes the final tracks that will later be played on streaming platforms, radio stations, and car commercials (if you’re lucky).

Mastering is a skill, and if you can afford to, your music will sound its best if you seek out a professional audio engineer to master your work. But lately, technology has come a long way in terms of digitally automating the mastering process. Companies now offer mastering tech to musicians for a fraction of the cost of working with a studio.

It’s Done – Now What?

When your music is finally finished, it’s time to distribute and promote it. Music distribution takes your finished music and makes it available for streaming and purchasing on digital platforms like Spotify, Apple Music, Pandora, and others. Record labels used to have an almost exclusive ability to do distribute music, but things have gotten more accessible for artists as music consumption has moved almost exclusively to digital spaces.

But long before your music gets distributed, you’ll need to put a great deal of time and thought into how to promote your work. Professional PR and radio campaigns will promote your music by sending it to blogs, traditional media outlets, and radio stations for coverage and potential radioplay, but this is expensive. Many musicians launch DIY music promotion efforts by pitching their music to blogs, playlist curators, and press outlets themselves. Promotion is hard work, but it’s crucial for connecting music with audiences today.

Like we mentioned before, learning the ropes of DIY home recording takes a lot of time and effort. It’s best to step into the process with an open mind and a great deal of patience because you’ll probably have to mess up a couple of times before you can truly develop the skills you need to produce great recordings.

Written by Patrick McGuire